A Round Is a Circle

I think I’ve finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up.  Is that strange?  I spent my youth taking the easy roads. Taking the paths of instant gratification.  Now that it will be a hardship and tons of work, I’m finally ready to work towards getting a degree.  I’ve been thinking about it since my son was born, but didn’t want to waste more time.  I spent three very disorganized and unproductive years in college.  I never had a major and just took any class that looked like fun.  From “History of Beethoven” to “Ancient Chinese Medicine” I learned a lot but at the end was no closer to a degree than when I started.  I was 20 when I was offered a position that paid $45k; I took it and abandoned my college career.  When presented with the question of what I wanted to do, I always knew it would involve kids, but I didn’t want to be changing diapers for the rest of my life… so what to do.  I narrowed my skill set down to these:  I am really good at getting down to the level of kids.  I can make them feel comfortable with me.  Kids talk to me and I love getting to see the world through their eyes.  What it boils down to is: I think I’d be a great Child Psychologist.  Working as a social worker, or therapist, or whatever I end up being best at.  I was scared to try, so I’ve been putting school on the back burner.  I kept using the kids as an excuse to not pursue it.  Then I realized that I should be using the kids as a reason to go.  I can set a good example for them if I make education a priority in my life.  So, long story short, I am taking a sociology class starting in two weeks.  It meets for a lecture one night a week and the rest takes place online.  Its going to be tough, Matt will be on his own with the kids every Monday, and he’ll have to leave work an hour early (which means staying an hour late on another day).  He’ll be on his own for dinner and bath and bed times.  I worry about how well Cordelia will do without me for bed time, but she’ll get used to  it (I hope).


Garden News:  We had our first meal from the garden!  And it may be the last if things don’t get growing.  We had pasta with tomato and basil and mozzarella.  It was so YUM!  I’ve been taking advantage of the local farms.  I made a wonderful minestrone, and tomato sauce that truly makes me melt.  I’m going to pick up some more tomatoes this evening to make some more.

Thanks for reading!

About badmamajana

28 years old. Stay at home mom of 2. From Massachusetts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Round Is a Circle

  1. Joyce says:

    I’m so happy for you Jana! I think you’d be great as a therapist… Course you’ll have to talk to parents too:)

    • badmamajana says:

      My mom is really excited, she’s helping me pay for this first class. After that, I’m on my own… but she wants to help get me started:)

Leave a Reply

